Preparing for Take-Off


“Your true traveler finds boredom rather agreeable than painful. It is the symbol of his liberty-his excessive freedom. He accepts his boredom, when it comes, not merely philosophically, but almost with pleasure.”
Aldous Huxley

Tradition
(photo by Cobalto 27 via the Flickr pool)

Challenge number one: packing.

Assuming my baggage weight could reach the typical international travel limit of 50lbs/23kg, I packed to the max. Then I realized my Avianca flight from Bogota to Bucaramanga is domestic so I had to re-pack for their 44lb limit. Considering I’m gone for two months and half of my bag was filled with presents (including a cast iron ant, which I’ll explain later…) and the bag itself isn’t exactly light, that doesn’t leave much room for clothes suitable for all the different climates I’ll be in, shoes for different occasions, sun block, bug spray and travel insurance documents. But, I guess that leaves a good excuse as any for shopping the few times we’ll be in a big city.

Challenge number two: Survive more than 24 hours of travel on four separate flights with plenty of layover time in between and a long drive.

I do enjoy flying, but not all of the messing around in between. I’ve got magazines (Afar, Lonely Planet, Wanderlust, Glamour) and books (Hidden by Tomas Mournian; Half the Sky by N. Kristof and S WuDunn; ), a journal to write in, my Spanish workbook to study and a fully stocked iPod. There’s airport people-watching which is entertaining in itself and I’ll be flying some red-eye hours, though I can rarely sleep on a flight.

Today is International Women’s Day. What do you think my chances are of convincing someone to move me up to first class in celebration??

Next check-in will be from Colombia, where I will hopefully get some translating in so these posts are also in Spanish.

Wish me luck!

A few Spanish words:
Luggage: equipaje
Ticket: boleto
To travel: viajar

About Little Observationist

Appreciating life's little luxuries.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and Other Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparing for Take-Off

  1. mo79uk says:

    LCO – should’ve guessed.🙂 Looking forward to your writings.
    And honestly, I’m not stalking you.

  2. Hi Mo! Good to see you here🙂

Leave a Reply

